University Football High Honors: The history of the Heisman Award

The Heisman Memorial Trophy Award, often referred to as the Heisman Trophy Award, is presented annually to the best American college football players in recognition of their outstanding performance on the pitch and outside the stadium Exemplary role. The Heisman Award was announced by the Heisman Trophy Trust in early December (NCAA Rugby playoff) and held an award ceremony.
The award was created in 1935 to recognize “the most valuable football player in the East”, which was issued by the Downtown Athletic Club. After the death of John Heisman, the club’s director of movement, in honor of his achievements, the prize was renamed the Heisman Award and began to be given to athletes west of Mississippi. As one of the oldest university football awards in the United States, the Heisman Award has a considerable weight in the United States and is a heavyweight award for all college footballers.
Trophy design
The Heisman trophy was designed by Frank Eliscu, a style of a football player who played the ball in the 1934 season at the New York University (NYU) football team Ed Smith. Trophies are made of pure copper, 34.3 cm high, weighing 11.3 kg. At that time, the trophy designer Frank Eliscu found his high school team teammate Ed Smith and hoped that he could make a rugby game to inspire him. At that time, Ed Smith certainly did not think that his inadvertent action, but later became the world famous Heisman trophy.
Candidate selection
At the beginning, only Mississippi east of the players are eligible to participate in awards. Beginning in 1936, all the players in the college football league are eligible to participate in the selection. But the final winners will usually be from the NCAA Division 1 (Division I) inside those outstanding achievements in the team generated.
Those who are eligible to vote include:
– Sports journalists (870 journalists each year have the right to vote, they will largely decide the final winner)
– The former Heisman winners (this year, a total of 57 former winners have the right to vote, they can choose to give up the vote, but will not lose the right to vote in their lifetime, they can each year for the Heisman Award for sacred One ticket)
– fans (each year, the Hayesman Trust will entrust ESPN to vote on its website, the final vote of the fans will become a vote)
Team honors
In addition to personal data, team performance is the key to winning the Heisman Award. In general, the Heisman Award winner’s team in the year generally have a record of the season, while the national championship or key division champion strong contender. Although the University of Chicago, who has produced the Heisman Award winner, Yale University and Princeton University are no longer the NCAA Division I team, but the winners are in the team in the first Part of the era of the district was the honor. Historically, only two NCAA first division outside the players into the final three candidates list, but ultimately failed to take the Heisman trophy. In view of this, in the selection of the Heisman Award, the team honor and the overall strength of the district occupies a considerable proportion.
In addition to Griffin at the Ohio State University (OSU) for two consecutive years to win the Heisman Award, in addition to three projects for two consecutive years produced two Heisman Award winners, they are: Yale University (1936-37) , Army (1945-46), University of Southern California (USC, 2004-05). Only three high schools have produced more than one Heisman Award winner, including: Woodrow Wilson High School, Mater Dei High School, Fork Union Military Academy.
Grade and age

So far, the Heisman winners are mainly from the senior. Cleveland Brown quarterback, known as “Johnny Rugby” popular young man Johnny – Manzel, Texas A & M University (Texas A & M University) effectiveness of the year won the Heisman Award, he also became Heisman Award in the history of the first in the freshman to win this award. In 2013, Jameis Winston won the Grand Prix at the 346-year-old Florida State University (FSU) quarterback, making it the youngest winner in history. In the first 72 years of the Heisman Award, no sophomore player won the prize. Until 2007, for two consecutive years are sophomore players winners, they are in 2007 Tim – Tim Bo (Tim Tebow), 2008 Sam – Bradford (Sam Bradford) and 2009 mark – Mark Ingram.
The youngest and oldest winners in history come from Florida State University. Chris Weinke won the 2000 Heisman Prize at the age of 28, and before he went to Florida State University to play football, he fought for six years in a baseball league. While the genius quarterback Winston won less than 20 years of age.
Player position
Running back and quarterback is the history of the Heisman Award for the most location, a very small number of other positions of the players won the award. Historically, there were two near-end prizes that were Larry Kelley and Leon Hart. Desmond Howard and Tim Brown, both of whom also won the award. Charles Woodson is the only true defensive player in the winner, who, at the time of his strength at the University of Michigan, has a major defensive defender and a part of the kick-off and overtaking task. Historically, players who have not yet been specializing in defense have won this award. Corner guard and line guard is even the opportunity to enter the final list of three candidates are not many.
Controversy and policy
Regional bias controversy
On the Heisman Award in the selection of regional issues is a long time controversy hot, Heisman Award in the selection process often selectively ignore the West Coast players caused a wide range of discussions. On the controversy over regional bias, many people think that because the voters in the east do not see the West Coast race. Due to the reasons for the TV broadcast contract, cultural interest and other reasons, on the Heisman Award for the selection of candidates for the Eastern University of the controversy has been endless.
2005 awards vacancies
In 2010, Pat Haden, head of athletes at the University of Southern California (USC), announced that according to the requirements of the NCAA, the school asked the 2005 Heisman winner Reggie Bush to return the trophy. The official statement of the NCAA was given the reason that Bush received a gift from a broker during college. September 14, 2010, Bush was officially canceled the title of Heisman Award winner. The next day, the Hayesman Trust announced the 2005 vacancy and withdrew all of the content related to all 2005 awards from the official website. Bush in 2012 after more than two years, the final reluctant to return the 2005 Heisman trophy to the Heisman Award Trust. And why the final award on why the vacancy, and why did not award to the vote was the second highest candidate Vince Young, at the time have aroused greater controversy.
Cardinals signed 49 players, renewed starting center
On Thursday, the Cardinals renewed their starting center and brought veteran kicker.
A.Q. Xi Pu Lei (A.Q. Shipley) as the center starting last season all the game, the Cardinals will be with him for two years. As a result, the first attack in 2017 striker had four signed a 2017 contract.
According to ESPN reporters, the Cardinals signed the former Brown, 49 players Gill – Dawson (Phil Dawson), this name has been fighting for 18 years veteran last year free kick 21 18, additional points 34 34. Most will replace the current kicker Chandler – Catanzaro (Chandler Catanzaro)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *